About the Helga! Festival Award

The seventh presentation of the Helga! Festival Award took place on Thursday, 19 September 2019, at Hamburg’s Imperial Theater.

At this award ceremony, presented as part of Reeperbahn Festival, awards were given in a total of six categories to the best festivals held in Germany between the dates of 1 September 2018 and 30 August 2019.

In addition to the public voting in the “Best Festival” category – which was open until 7 September 2019 at www.hoemepage.com – this year, for the first time, expert juries across Germany, which have been selected by Reeperbahn Festival in partnership with LiveKomm’s FestivalKombinat working group, decided the winning festivals. 

What was new in 2019: festivals that would like to join the winners’ circle at this year’s Helga! Festival Award had to apply and provide a brief explanation as to why they feel they are deserving of an award. Applications could be made until Friday, 30 August 2019, 11:59 p.m. Membership in an association was not required.

We were pleased to welcome HÖME Magazin as a new media partner this year. HÖME, the “home of festival culture”, hosted both the public voting and the newly established festival application process.

And we were also excited to welcome another new partner: LiveKomm, LiveMusikKommission e.V. – the Federal Association of Music Venues in Germany. As the umbrella organisation of the FestivalKombinat working group, LiveKomm was contributing its expertise and assisting with the organisation, communication, and evaluation of the festival applications. 

The Helga! Festival Award has been presented at Reeperbahn Festival since 2013 and serves to recognise the best national (and international) festivals of the year. In 2019, awards were given in a total of six categories.

Continuing the tradition, the Helga! Festival Award ceremony was once again hosted by Carsten Schumacher and Bernd Begemann.

Über den Helga! Festival Award

Am Donnerstag, den 19. September 2019 fand die 7. Verleihung des Helga! Festival Awards im Imperial Theater Hamburg statt.
In insgesamt 6 Kategorien wurden im Rahmen des Reeperbahn Festivals die besten Festivals Deutschlands im Betrachtungszeitraum 01. September 2018 bis 30. August 2019 ausgezeichnet. 

Neben der Kategorie “Bestes Festival”, für die bis zum 07. September 2019 das Public Voting auf www.hoemepage.com und lief, hat das Reeperbahn Festival in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Arbeitskreis FestivalKombinat der LiveKomm erstmals pro Kategorie bundesweite Fachjurys zusammengestellt, die über die diesjährigen Gewinner-Festivals entschieden haben.

Neu war in diesem Jahr, dass sich Festivals, die zum Kreis der Gewinner des diesjährigen Helga! Festival Award gehören wollten, proaktiv bewerben und ihre Preiswürdigkeit kurz begründen mussten. Einsendeschluss war Freitag, der 30. August 2019 - 23:59 Uhr, eine Verbandsmitgliedschaft war dafür nicht notwendig.

Neuer Medienpartner war in diesem Jahr das HÖME Magazin. HÖME, das “Zuhause der Festivalkultur”, hostete neben dem Public Voting auch den neu geschaffenen Bewerbungsprozess der Festivals. 

Als weiteren neuen Partner konnten wir die LiveKomm, LiveMusikKommission - Verband der Musikspielstätten in Deutschland e.V., begrüßen. Die LiveKomm als Dachverband des Arbeitskreis FestivalKombinat unterstützte uns als Kompetenz-Partner bei der Organisation, Kommunikation und inhaltlichen Auswertung der Festivalbewerbungen.

Der Helga! Festival Award wird seit 2013 im Rahmen des Reeperbahn Festivals vergeben und zeichnet die besten nationalen (und internationalen) Festivals des Jahres aus. Im Jahr 2019 wurden Preise in insgesamt 6 Kategorien vergeben.

Moderiert wurde der Helga! Festival Award von Carsten Schumacher und Bernd Begemann.